8th edition of our BGCE Student Paper Prize took place at SIAM CSE 21

For the eight-time, the ENB Elite Bavarian Graduate School of Computational Engineering (BGCE) awarded the "BGCE Student Prize" for the best paper at the SIAM CSE conference. From 24 paper submissions, in the form of four-page extended abstracts, received by prior-to-Ph.D. international students, these eight outstanding candidates have been selected and invited to present their work in the finals during this year's SIAM CS&E virtual conference:

  • Shane A. McQuarrie (Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, University of Texas at Austin, U.S.):
    • Data-driven Reduced-order Models via Regularized Operator Inference
  • Nicole Aretz (Aachen Institute for Advanced Study in Computational Engineering Science (AICES), RWTH Aachen University, Germany):
    • An Observability Criterion for Sensor Selection for Configuration-dependent Linear Bayesian Inverse Problems With Correlated Noise
  • Michael G. Kapteyn (Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.): 
    • A Probabilistic Graphical Model Foundation For Enabling Predictive Digital Twins At Scale
  • Georg Maierhofer (Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge, U.K.):
    • A general method for moment computation in Filon methods
  • Jens Hahne (Fakultät für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany):
    • Time-Parallel Simulation of an Induction Machine using MGRIT with Spatial Coarsening
  • Terrence Alsup (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, U.S.): 
    • Trading-off Deterministic Preconditioning and Sampling in Bayesian Inference
  • Maria Strazzullo (mathLab, Mathematics Area, SISSA, Italy):
    • Reduced Order Models for Parametrized Optimal Control in Advanced Applications: From Nonlinearity To Time Dependency
  • Shashank Subramanian (Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, University of Texas at Austin, U.S.):
    • A Scalable Inversion Framework for Brain Tumor Growth Models in Personalized Medicine

The members of the international prize committee were: Hans-Joachim Bungartz (TU Munich), Esmond Ng (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Carol Woodward (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory), Barbara Wohlmuth (TU Munich), Hartwig Anzt (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie), Rolf Krause (Università della Svizzera Italiana), Anne Reinarz (Durham University) - at this point, we would like to thank them all again for the participation and commitment.

We would like to thank all the finalists for participating in the 8th edition of our BGCE Prize - this was another wonderful experience with eight outstanding presentations! We have to emphasize that all the finalists filled the jury members and other attendees with enthusiasm - with their papers, presentations, and spirit. We even got a couple of feedback that the student talks in our sessions were some of the conference's very best!

And ... the winner is ... Shashank!!

So congratulations to Shashank!

The winner was officially announced during the Awards Session on Friday, March 5.

We are all already looking forward to welcoming Shashank here in Bavaria as soon as the situation allows that!

P.S. To all the SIAM CSE21 registrants who might have missed our sessions - records of all the talks (MS6 & MS96) are available on the virtual conference platform until June 4, 2021