Prof. N. Navab receives MICCAI Enduring Impact Award 2021

Für Studierende, Forschung, Startseite |

Most prestigious award for Medical Image Computing offered by the MICCAI Society

Prof. Nassir Navab

Prof. Nassir Navab, Chair for Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality, was awarded the MICCAI Enduring Impact Award 2021. It is the MICCAI (Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention) Society’s most prestigious prize for Medical Image Computing which was founded in 2009. It is awarded to a senior researcher whose work has made an enduring impact on the field of medical image computing and computer assisted interventions by opening up new areas of research with high clinical impact, making significant contributions to scholarship, and supporting early career researchers.

According to the statement by MICCAI Fellow Prof. Alan Colchester, University of Kent (UK), Prof. Navab has been a highly sucessful researcher and pioneer in a full spectrum of MICCAI topics, including Medical Augmented Reality, Multi-modal Registration and Robotic Imaging. His publication record is exceptionnel with sustained and growing citation rates. Prof. Navab won the prestigious Siemens Inventor of the year award in 2001 and he's a MICCAI Society Fellow. His contribution to conferences is notable. As far as MICCAI is concerned Prof. Navab was a member of the MICCAI Society Board of Directors between 2007 and 2012 and between 2014 and 2017. He was General Chair at the memorable Munich meeting in 2015. The successful applications of his research are reflected in non less than 51 US and more than 80 international patents. Finally Prof. Navab is mentor of a veritable army of doctoral students who moved on to successful academic posts in academia and industry.

The MICCAI Enduring Impact Award 2021 was presented at the 24th International MICCAI conference which took place as a virtual event in Strasbourg from September 27 to October 1.


Watch the MICCAI laudatory speech by Prof. Alan Colchester

Find the list of previous awardees here