Acknowledgement of TUM Members

Professors of the Department of Informatics enjoy a high standing in the research community. Five faculty members were honoured with the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, the most important research award in Germany. Two professors were awarded the IEEE Computer Pioneer Award; the award is regarded as the “Nobel Prize” in Informatics. In addition, TUM informatics professionals received the most significant distinction for Informatics in Germany – the Konrad Zuse Medal. Several TUM Informatics professors are members of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities, of the German Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina, and of the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech. Furthermore, there exists a great variety of additional acknowledgements.

Awards via the TUM

The Department of Informatics awards the F.L.-Bauer Prize and an honorary doctorate to international scientists with a good reputation. Since 2006, the honorary professor Heinz Schwärtzel awards outstanding doctoral students with the Heinz Schwärtzel Dissertation Prize. Furthermore, the Department of Informatics acknowledges student tutors or employees who are especially committed to teaching.